Brexit: Shadow ministers resign in protest against Jeremy Corbyn

    Brexit: Shadow ministers resign in protest against Jeremy Corbyn Jeremy Corbyn, Leader of the Labour Party

    June 26, London: Five Labour shadow cabinet members have quit, and more resignations are expected in Britain, in protest at Jeremy Corbyn's leadership over the EU referendum.

    Heidi Alexander, Ian Murray, Gloria de Piero, Lillian Greenwood and Lucy Powell are on line and it comes after Corbyn sacked shadow foreign secretary Hilary Benn.

    Corbyn faces a vote of no confidence following a "lacklustre" EU campaign but shadow chancellor John McDonnell said he "wasn't going anywhere".

    The Labour Party campaigned for Remain during the referendum, which saw the UK voting to leave the EU by 52 percent to 48 percent on Thursday.

    But Corbyn - who has been a long-standing critic of the EU and who is regarded as the most Eurosceptic Labour leader in years - was criticised by some in his party for not making the case for the EU forcefully enough, reports said.

    According to the Associated Press report, union members on Labour's National Executive are to call for unity and will support Corbyn's leadership.

    And more than 175,000 people have signed an online petition backing the Labour leader, who was elected last September in a landslide victory.

    The Oslo Times International News Network


    Related Posts