Bangladesh National election 2018

    Bangladesh National election 2018 National Election of Bangladesh 2018

    Chandan Sarkar : 
    Head of Asia, The Oslo Time

    AL thanks EC and people for holding a peaceful and fair election, at a breifing in their Dhanmondi Office
    Voting for the 11th parliamentary election ended peacefully in Dhaka; but was tainted with violence elsewhere across the country and cost the lives of at least a dozen people.

    Reports of casualties came in from Cumilla, Chattogram, Sylhet, Rajshahi, Dinajpur, Rangamati, Cox’s Bazar, Bogura, Noakhali, Narsingdi and Gazipur – where at least 15 people died.

    A total of 45 opposition candidates have boycotted the election so far citing vote rigging and ballot stuffing.

    Among them, 22 Jamaat candidates, who were contesting the polls under the ‘sheaf of paddy’ symbol, said they boycotted the election due to “unfair voting atmosphere”.

    Allegations of vote rigging, election clashes, intimidation and irregularities came in from several other constituencies and capital Dhaka city.

    For the first time though, voting saw an hour of “lunch break” where Awami League men and election officers sealed off centres in Dhaka, barring voters and journalists alike.

    Also, the election saw opposition candidates boycotting elections in at least 43 constituencies; 42 of who were Jatiya Oikyafront runners.

    Now, officers will begin vote counting and Bangladesh will wait to hear the results.


    It is after 10 years that Bangladesh and its people are witnessing an election that is being held in participation of all the major political parties.

    The last one held on January 5, 2014, was highly debated both nationally and internationally as it saw no election to more than half of the seats.

    A total of 153 constituencies out of the total 300 saw lawmakers elected uncontested – an election which was boycotted by prime opposition BNP.

    Sheikh Hasina remained in rule for two consecutive terms with the parliamentary opposition of Jatiya Party, which took part in the cabinet of Awami League.


    A total of 10,42,38,677 voters across the country are expected to cast vote throughout the 40,183 polling centres installed across 299 constituencies.

    Voting will undergo across the country uninterrupted from 8:00am in the morning to 4:00pm under the supervision of the Election Commission and its 66 returning officers.

    Though 39 political parties are contesting in the elections, the main focus is likely to fall on the ruling Awami League and its alliances, including Jatiya Party, and its arch opposition alliance Jatiya Oikyafront which consists of BNP.

    Voting is taking place under the administration of running Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

    However, we visited and talked with the people and others authority they told to us that this is the best election in Bangladesh. Poeple are happy to cast the vote and it was a festival mode as well as less caualities in the previous election. 

    The Oslo Times International News Network


    Related Posts